Game 6 thoughts

Father Scott

A brief list of things that suck, after watching the Celtics lose to the Hawks, which, by the way, is unacceptable.

1. Sam Cassell. You should not be employed. And I don’t mean by an NBA team, I mean on Earth. I wish I worked for customs so I could deport you.

2. Doc Rivers. See no. 1. Why is Cassell getting any minutes, especially late? Why are you telling Ray Allen to shoot fading contested threes (because that was absolutely scripted)? Why isn’t Tony Allen, who I generally hate but is better than Sam Cassell, playing?

3. Referees. I hate blaming refs. I hate it. The Hawks won, I’m not making excuses. But really, there were at least two bogus fouls on Pierce. I got your gang signs right here, buddy.

4. Mike Bibby. No joke, he’s just terrible.


Yeast infections are painful

5. The Atlanta announcer. Not to step on Perk’s analytical style, but seriously, fuck this guy.

6. Josh Childress. Your afro is cool; your free throw shooting sucks.

7. Joe Johnson shooting uncontested shots. It’s been six games, hasn’t Tom Thibodeau said anything about getting a hand in Joe’s face?

8. The Hawks as underdogs. Perk had a great post about that.

9. People ripping off Basketbawful‘s Worst of the Night. Um….

10. That my friends aren’t answering my angry text messages.

11. Kevin Garnett. You know what big guy, I love you, but fucking grow a pair and go to the hoop. If I see one more 19-footer when a 6-6 guy is guarding you, or one more kick out to some schmuck like James Posey when you’re one on one in the low post, I’m going to scream. Like this. You should get 35 points a night against these losers.


Enough of this. You’re 7 feet tall. No one on the planet can guard you. Take it to the hole.

12. That I have to hear about the goddamn Golden State goddamn Warriors for another two days.

13. Tommy Heinsohn’s pharmacist. It’s postgame as I type this and he’s way too calm. Gary Tanguay should be ducking under the table cowering in fear right now, and Heinsohn should be dropping f-bombs and being taken off the air. Donny Marshall did a great job filling his shoes, though.

8 Comments

Filed under sports

8 responses to “Game 6 thoughts

  1. I’m a Celtics fan, but I disagree with the blatant ref blaming. What about all the times KG touches the ball, gets breathed on by a defender, and the ref calls a foul? I guess he gets a free pass.

  2. fatherscott

    Stars generally get preferential treatment, yes. I was just pointing out that in tonight’s game, some of the fouls specifically called on Pierce were completely bogus, particularly the last two (or was it the 4th and 6th). Of course, there are questionable calls every game and refs can’t be perfect…I’m just blowing off steam.

  3. fatherscott

    Stars generally get preferential treatment, yes. I was just pointing out that in tonight’s game, some of the fouls specifically called on Pierce were completely bogus, particularly the last two (or was it the 4th and 6th). Of course, there are questionable calls every game and refs can’t be perfect…I’m just blowing off steam.

  4. ken

    I am sort of speechless after last night. I am not sure who to blame, or why exactly the Celtics have come to this. But I think this failure is mostly Doc Rivers’. There’s no excuse for a team that is routinely up by more than 10 points — which I believe has happened to the Celts in every game, right? — to lose so spectacularly and so often. It comes down to poor late-game planning and execution. (Sub-question: Why was the game-winning, series-clinching shot left in Rondo’s hands? Explain yourself, Glenn.)

  5. It certainly was frustrating. I couldn’t believe that none of the Celtics showed more urgency on that last shot. Posey and Allen each made a half-assed attempt to get open, but couldn’t, and Rondo was stuck. Ridiculous.

  6. Pingback: perkisabeast.com Blog » Blog Archive » Well that sure sucked.

  7. Perry Ellis

    Padre, Cassell blew chunks last night and Ray Allen couldn’t have hit water if he fell out of a boat. But I was at Game 5 and they both were money. Chalk it up to being on the road?

    The officiating in the NBA is just … I have no words for how bad it is. Doesn’t matter who your team is, who your favorite player is, the refs will violate them sooner or later. Blows dog.

    The Celts are a much better team than the Hawks but if they can’t beat them in their own house it won;t matter if they win Game 7.

  8. I try to give the refs the benefit of the doubt; it is a tough job, and it’s a fast game. But as I said, two of those fouls on Paul were inexcusable. As in, action should be taken. Why aren’t refs held accountable more?

    If we do win game 7 (can’t believe I’m saying that…), I think the Cavs are a good matchup for us. LeBron will get his, but Pierce usually plays him well (I may be mistaken, but that’s what my memory tells me), and they don’t have anyone who can stop KG, if he’d just sack it up and go to the basket.

Leave a Reply

