Ancient Sumerians were hilarious

Pax Arcana


Pull my finger

….aaaAAAAAHHHAAHHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAA!!! HAAAAAAA!!! HANG ON, hang on, hang on… just give me a second here… so hard to breathe… seriously, stop looking at me… stop it… stop IT…. HaHaHa … [snick] …

[Wipes eyes with impossibly bronzed forearms]

You guys, you guys. I just heard the funniest freaking joke ever.

Seriously, it’s hilarious.

Some researchers were asked to dig up the world’s 10 oldest jokes, and it turns out the oldest of them is the funniest thing I’ve ever heard. Check it out:

The study defined a joke as having a clear set-up and punchline structure, a tradition which was traced back to 1900 BC.

Researchers believe it was then that the world’s oldest joke, an ancient Sumerian proverb, was cracked: “Something which has never occurred since time immemorial; a young woman did not fart in her husband’s lap.”

HHHHHHAAAAAAAAAAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHHA!

… oh my god i don’t think i can read the rest …

[snick]

He said fart.

Wolverhampton researchers discover world’s oldest joke [Birmingham Post]

1 Comment

Filed under history

One response to “Ancient Sumerians were hilarious

  1. Darren Duran

    The depth of your wit is astounding. I cringe at the idea that I could have gone the rest of my life not having read something so brilliant.

    Hats off to you, Jackass!

Leave a Reply

