Spina Perryiana: My new best friend

Perry Ellis

Our legion of loyal Paxagonians are no doubt all too familiar with the ongoing saga that is my pair of bulging vertebral discs. All I’ll say by way of advice, having gone through it twice, is this: Never let anyone stick a needle in your spine unless you’re getting a baby out of the deal (warning: extremely cute kid after the jump).


A baby like this baby. He weighs 10 pounds, 11 ounces!

Now that I’ve had two epidurals that were absolutely no help whatsoever, I finally dragged my sorry ass to physical therapy and met my new best friend:


No, not this guy. What this guy’s doing.

Meet what is soon to be my boon companion: the press-up. I’ll be doing 10-15 of these every hour for the near future, and if that sounds onerous you’re dumber than a mansion full of snot you’ve never had back trouble. Apparently a week or so of diligent application should relieve my symptoms, at which point I’ll progress to even more arcane and convoluted gyrations.

All of this is really just an excuse to post a picture of my kid, and to say I’ll be even scarcer around these parts for a little while – Mrs. Ellis and I are taking The Boy to Chatham for a week or two of rest, relaxation and press-ups.

But, in the interest of full participation (and at the risk of stealing a smidgen of the Paxman’s thunder), I humbly submit my list for tomorrow’s Random 10:

1 – Hoover Dam – Sugar
2 – Superunknown – Soundgarden
3 – Fitted Shirt – Spoon
4 – Bastards of Young – ‘Mats
5 – She’s Doing It Again – The Feelies
6 – Boy Named Sue (live at San Quentin) – Johnny Cash
7 – Learn to Fly – Foo Fighters
8 – Don’t Come Around Here No More – Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers
9 – The Receipt – Bob Mould
10 – Your Little Hoodrat Friend – The Hold Steady

Have a great week, everybody.

3 Comments

Filed under bands, Friday random 10, music, Parenthood, parenting

3 responses to “Spina Perryiana: My new best friend

  1. Have a great time, Perry. That kid old enough to eat clams yet?

  2. Perry Ellis

    Thanks man. Have some fun yourself at the annual Arcanafest.

  3. Perry Ellis

    P.S. He can eat them if pureed.

Leave a Reply

