3 things I heard during lunch break (and one I read when I got back)

Father Scott

I had an ungodly lunch break full of waiting in line and driving all over creation. Moving is annoying, people. Sad you missed tagging along on my ride? Well, you’re in luck. Here’s what I learned on the radio:

1) Jason Varitek is done. If you live in the Boston area and are even a tepid sports fan, you’ve heard this ad nauseum for the last two months. Other than the Manny hatefest, this has been the number 1 sports topic (no. 2: WTF is wrong with Clay Buchholz? no. 451389: Paul Byrd signs with the Sox).

Maybe I’m a mindless drone, but I buy all the talk that Tek is defensively amazing, as part as working with pitchers goes. I also am a proponent of keeping a steady presence or two for an organization. Tek’s the guy. I say keep him until those tree trunk legs he has fall off.

2) Jeremy Guthrie leads the league in quality starts. Really?

3) I like my sugar with coffee and cream.

4) Official band of Perry Ellis The Hold Steady hates Radiohead. Not really, but it got your attention, right? How about this: they like Oasis more. Seriously.

3 Comments

Filed under music, sports, videos

3 responses to “3 things I heard during lunch break (and one I read when I got back)

  1. Varitek is still the guy calling the games and you only need to look back at 2005 to see how horrendous the same pitchers played without Tek. Much like a defensive Shortstop, Tek’s value in the field absolutely is more important than his value batting. Beckett, Dice-K, Lester all rely on Tek to make the calls. Schilling wouldve had the first no-hitter of his career had he not shaken off Teks call.

    More important than the geek fight between the HS guitarist and the uber-Radiohead-fucktards, is the Hold Steady/Drive By Truckers Tour:
    Sun Nov 09 Boston MA ORPHEUM THEATRE The Hold Steady/Drive By Truckers (HS Closes)

    And another fucking ridiculously good show to make your day:

    Neil Young 12/13/2008 DCU Center Boston, MA ^

    ^ with Wilco + Everest

    Thats all I’ve got.

  2. I guess I’ve got one more…watched the first season of the Shield recently, fucking fantastic…

    http://www.amazon.com/The-Shield-Seasons-1-5/dp/B000R34ZU6/ref=pd_sxp_grid_pt_2_1

Leave a Reply

