Those Wendy’s guys are pissing off those Freakonomics guys

Pax Arcana

wendysYou know those Wendy’s commercials where the three office worker guys sit around and pretend to discuss economics, but really they’re talking about Wendy’s burgers? The campaign is built around a Wendy’s ad concept called “3conomics,” so-called because you get three minutes between ingesting the burger and explosive diarrhea.

Or maybe it’s because you can get three cheesburgers for a dollar or something. I really don’t know.

Anyway, the main guy over at Freakonomics — the Web site named after the book he wrote — finally caught wind of this ad campaign, and it sounds like he’s not happy about it:

I saw my sister Linda when I visited Minnesota over the holidays.

Linda is the one who came up with the title Freakonomics. She was complaining how unfair it is that everywhere she looks, she sees people ripping off her idea. I asked her what she was talking about, and she offered up lame examples like “Obamanomics.”

I reminded her that the term “Reaganomics” existed long before Freakonomics, and I chided her for being egotistical.

That was before I saw the new 3conomics campaign from Wendy’s.

He doesn’t elaborate, but one can only presume he thinks Wendy’s stole the concept of rhyming things that sound like “eee.” I hope he doesn’t start suing people based on this, because that could really damage sales of my series of forthcoming books on treeconomics, pleaconomics, fleaconomics, spreeconomics, teaconomics, seaconomics, keyconomics, beeconomics, fleeconomics, wiiconomics, agreeconomics, bansheeconomics, debrisconomics, coffeeconomics, yangtzeconomics, ho-chiconomics, sweetpeaconomics, coralseaconomics, absenteeconomics, and amputeeconomics.

3conomics [NYT]

4 Comments

Filed under food

4 responses to “Those Wendy’s guys are pissing off those Freakonomics guys

  1. Perry Ellis

    “Ho-chiconomics”

    Heh. Thank you.

  2. I have a book on the economy of urine…

    Also one on My Morning Jacket sales…

  3. I think the latest MMJ record fits in the category of shouldbefreeconomics.

  4. elroy

    In a wordish, hyperboleeconomical

Leave a Reply

