It’s the mom of the year

Pax Arcana

Threatening to leave your screeching kids on a busy roadside is a right of parentage for every American mother.

hero-mom1Actually kicking the kids out of the car and driving away is pure genius. Meet Madlyn Primoff, who was so tired of listening to her daughters argue over who ran the better dressage routine or something, that she actually booted the bastards out of the car in White Plains and hauled ass out of there:

White Plains police said Primoff ordered the arguing girls out of the car Sunday evening as they were driving home. She left them at Post Road and South Broadway, an area of shops and offices 3 miles from their home, then drove off, the police report said.

The report does not say whether the girls had cell phones.

Police would not say if Primoff ever returned to look for the girls, but they said, without explaining how, that the 12-year-old eventually caught up with the mother. The 10-year-old was found by a “Good Samaritan” on the street, upset and emotional about losing her mother, police said.

The article makes several allusions to Primoff’s upper-crust existence. She is a partner in a law firm and a resident of ritzy Scarsdale, NY. This is important, because only rich people are arrested treating their kids like the assholes that they are. Poor people are allowed to punt their toddlers down the supermarket aisle like some kind of human soccer match, but our hero mom gets sent to the hoosegow (seriously, she is barred from contact with her kids by the cops) for daring to suggest to her children that she was the m-fing boss.

By all means, let’s round out this ridiculousness with a sober statement on the psychological impact of opening a can of awesome on some spoiled ass brats:

Dr. Richard Gersh, director of psychiatric services at the Jewish Board of Family and Children’s Services in Manhattan, said Primoff’s behavior was not appropriate.

“It is a traumatic situation for a child to be abandoned by a parent like that. You can imagine what emotional issues might arise,” he said.
Ummmmm, they become adults?

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “It’s the mom of the year

  1. I worry for your and the vivacious and reasonable Mrs. Pax Arcana’s future children. Especially Cadillac, who you will undoubtedly always be hard on.

  2. I’m already building Cadillac’s trophy case. Oh wait — they don’t keep score in Little League any more. We’re all winners!!

  3. kebmurphy

    I kind of remember my parents doing this to us. For reals.

  4. Esquire

    I don’t believe it’s legal to keep Cadillac in a case.

  5. Kim

    My mother told me the story about how she left my sister on the side of the road and drove off because my sister was doing something that annoyed her, I don’t remember what her reason was.

    My mother would laugh and tell us how when she finally drove back to pick her up her face was all red and she worried that she had been sunburnt but in fact she’d been playing with her lipstic.

    I never really questioned the story, my mother described many such things to us growing up with a little chuckle and oh isn’t this cute type sentiment.

    But then when I thought about it years later, I thought what kind of a mother leaves a two year old child on the side of a road?

    In the case of this woman, I don’t know how I feel. I think it was wrong but after years of experiencing this kind of abuse being trivialized I don’t know what I feel. I think it was wrong.

Leave a Reply

