Wednesday Whaley Whimperfest: NBC and Hulu are stupid

Father Scott

You may have noticed there was no Tuesday Tubby Tearfest this week. Here’s why: I missed The Biggest Loser the previous week (Celts opening night y’all) and was like, “Oh, I’ll check it out online later.” NBC is a major network, works really hard on Hulu (they advertised on the Super Bowl!), so obviously this was a flawless plan.

Except Hulu and NBC.com don’t put the episodes up right away. “That’s fine,” I thought when I checked Wednesday. “There needs to be some sort of penalty for me missing the actual airing, and thus missing all the commercials, which is how they pay the big bucks to attract that ogre Jillian Michaels to the show.”

Then I checked Thursday. No dice. Nor all weekend.

So it gets to be this Tuesday, and I can’t catch up in time for the new one. THEY WAIT A WEEK BEFORE POSTING THE EPISODES.

I demand an explanation. How am I supposed to catch up, ever? By penalizing me for missing one show’s worth of commercials, they force me to never watch on time again, which means I always watch online, which means I only see one or two low-rent commercials, which I’m sure don’t pay the big bucks.

Plus, it loses momentum. Part of the joy of watching the show is talking with other people about it, or in my case, writing about how much these fatboys and gals cry.

I fear that I will never recover, fair reader (hi Jaelynne!).

Anyway, I think this is stupid. If I had DVR, I could easily do more damage by fast-forwarding through the commercials. For some reason DVR is an asset to networks, but online is a replacement. This is totally nonsensical, and sometimes I wonder if TV networks have any better idea of how to work with the Internet than newspapers did.

I hate both of you NBC and Hulu. Unless this is a one-time thing, in which case everything is fine and I’ll catch up soon.

AMOUNT OF CRYING IN THIS WEEK’S EPISODE

No idea, since I don’t have any momentum to go on. For me, the over/under is 0.5. You should take the over.

WHO’S GOING HOME

I don’t know who’s there LA LA LA

DELICIOUS TREAT TO EAT WHILE WATCHING THE SHOW

Since I can’t watch the show, does this mean I can’t eat the delicious treat? OH HELL NO. This week’s treat: chocolate chip pie from some place in Raynham that Jaelynne frequents, and then doesn’t finish and lets me devour during lunch. NICE.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Wednesday Whaley Whimperfest: NBC and Hulu are stupid

  1. Fallen Angel

    what a dumb show

  2. Fallen Angel

    except for jillian

    *sigh*

  3. Jaelynne

    That chocolate chip pie could have done a better job of posting the episodes than NBC. And it’s way tastier, too.

    I’ve got it: gain 250 lbs and go on the show. It’s the only surefire way to never miss out – and you’d probably get free Subway, too.

  4. Pingback: Tuesday Tubby Tearfest: Ranking the final four «

Leave a Reply

